Holly idle mixture screws - Speedwake 2.0
Speedwake 2.0
Go Back   Speedwake 2.0 > Main Forums > Technical Forum
Click Here to Register

Notices




Reply
Speedwake 2.0 > Main Forums > Technical Forum  >  Holly idle mixture screws
 
Post New Thread Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2010, 03:50 AM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
Holly idle mixture screws

I have a question about setting the idle mixture screws on a 350 cu in engine. when hooking the vacuum gauge up, does the engine have to be in gear. i tried the holly procedure and the maximum vacuum obtained was with the screws turned all the way in, and i doubt that's the way they should be set. also, does changing the screws affect the air fuel mixture above at running speeds above 2000 rpms.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2010, 05:30 PM
86NovaII's Avatar
86NovaII 86NovaII is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 16,2009
Location: Colorado Springs, Co.
Posts: 330
They do nothing above an idle. If your idle is set too high, adjusting them won't change your vac reading either.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-08-2010, 08:00 PM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
thanks for the reply, i had the rpms set to about 650, and i wasn't seeing alot of change in vacuum. engines are running very rich at idle and i thought maybe that was it
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-08-2010, 08:14 PM
86NovaII's Avatar
86NovaII 86NovaII is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 16,2009
Location: Colorado Springs, Co.
Posts: 330
At 650 I'd say the idle mix screws should still be active, you should see vac changes with adjustment.
The screws should be at 2-2.5 turns out as a starting point.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2010, 04:06 AM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
i started at 2 turns out, and was seeing max vacuum with the screws turned all the way in, very weird
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2010, 05:27 AM
MrMaine MrMaine is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 13,2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 195
What holley carb? If its the spreadbore 650cfm, I believe the screws should be around 1/2 turn out. You should adjust to highest vacuum reading at idle.

That being said, the motor should definately stall with them turned all the way in. I think you have a internal fuel leak. You should check float height, possibly a leaking welsh plug etc. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2010, 10:44 AM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
i haven't got the part number, i'll write it down tonight. they are very very low hour engines, and i'm wondering if pleasurecraft or the mechanic made all the connections
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2010, 01:32 PM
Blue Thunder's Avatar
Blue Thunder Blue Thunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 4,2002
Location: Newmanstown, Pa.
Posts: 1,802
If you can't get the engine to stall turning the screws all the way in you aren't running on the idle circuit at idle. What you need to do is adjust the secondary throttle plates open a bit so you can close the primary throttle plates. Then you will be able to stall the engine using the idle mix screws. Thereafter start at 1 turn out on all screws. Turn all screw in in 1/4 turn increments until highest vacuum is attained or better yet an a/f reading for 14:1. You will most likely end close to the 1/2 turn out give or take an 1/8th turn. I agree 2.5 turns out would be way rich.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2010, 03:45 PM
liberator221 liberator221 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 13,2009
Location: arcadia indiana
Posts: 151
holley; rich idle;..... power valve?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2010, 04:09 PM
Blue Thunder's Avatar
Blue Thunder Blue Thunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 4,2002
Location: Newmanstown, Pa.
Posts: 1,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by liberator221 View Post
holley; rich idle;..... power valve?
Good point. Before you get too carried away with setting the idle mix screws make sure there is no fuel dripping out the boosters at idle. If it is dripping it could be the float is set too high or the PV is blown if it has one. Either will negate idle mix tuning.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-10-2010, 05:16 AM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
thanks for the great replies guys. I guess the question is why am I running so rich at 800 to 1000 rpms when i'm in no wake zones. can't believe i'm having these problems on motors that are only 3 years old
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-10-2010, 05:17 AM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
and how do I check to see if the boosters are dripping fuel at idle
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-10-2010, 09:47 AM
Blue Thunder's Avatar
Blue Thunder Blue Thunder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 4,2002
Location: Newmanstown, Pa.
Posts: 1,802
Remove the flame arrestor and look down the carb at idle. You should see no fuel dripping, none. If there is fuel dripping, loosen the float adjuster nut and turn it cw in 1/4 turn increments until it stops. Note that this must be done with the boat in the water. The attitude is different on the trailer.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-11-2010, 03:28 PM
liberator221 liberator221 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 13,2009
Location: arcadia indiana
Posts: 151
If it is your power valves there could be one in the secondaries as well as the primaries depending on carb, and they have diffferent vac ratings. If you are taking the carb apart to change power valves take the base plate off the main body, and install back fire check balls if it dosen't have them. Holley # HLY-125-500. Just another thought,... hope you allready have it fixed.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-11-2010, 04:22 PM
86NovaII's Avatar
86NovaII 86NovaII is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 16,2009
Location: Colorado Springs, Co.
Posts: 330
I don't think any of the Holleys use a secondary PV. All I've seen/used have a solid plug in the secondary metering block.

What size Holleys are you running, was never specified.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-12-2010, 06:33 AM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
I went down to the marina last night (had to work all weekend, I'm very lucky in this economy), It's a Holley model 80552 marine carbuerator. From what I can tell there are no float adjustment screws on those. I didn't run it as it was getting dark out to check for being able to see gas dripping at idle, i'll do that today. I did pull a couple of plugs, they are ac delco platinums (very expensive) and they are definitely black. The strangest thing (probably not in the world of boating lol) is that the boat has twins and both engines are running the exact same way. What started this whole problem is the first time out is that the chokes never opened up and I got fuel in the oil. I took care of that by changing the oil twice and I'm not getting any more fuel in the oil.

a little more history, these are new engines from pleasurecraft and they sat for two years
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-12-2010, 11:57 AM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
update. i went down to the boat and replaced the spark plugs in the port engine, they were platinum so kind of expensive. the ones in their were all carboned up but dry. after the change the motor ran fantastic. also, there is no external gloat adjustment on the carbs, but I saw no fuel leaking in the bores so I believe they are okay. i'll keep everyone posted
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-12-2010, 12:12 PM
MrMaine MrMaine is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 13,2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 195
There may be many different opinions on this but I wouldn't run platinum plugs in a carbuerated application. They are more sensitive to fouling from excess gas and this occurs with carbuerators more so than Fuel Injection.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-12-2010, 12:16 PM
jwws007's Avatar
jwws007 jwws007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 12,2003
Location: rochester,ny
Posts: 226
i was wondering the same thing myself. pleasurecraft puts them in standard from the factory
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)2004-2010 Speedwake LLC