Powerboat Forums at SpeedWake banner
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the chance to pick up a 2000 Donzi 28ZX Scorpion for the note payoff which is 60K.
The boat has 150 hours on it, the condition is excellent. My question is; how long are these motors good for before they start needing to be rebuilt?
I would be coming from a Stingray 230sx, so this is a big step up for us..

Thank you~!

·
Registered
5,508 Posts
Primopup said:
I have the chance to pick up a 2000 Donzi 28ZX Scorpion for the note payoff which is 60K.
The boat has 150 hours on it, the condition is excellent. My question is; how long are these motors good for before they start needing to be rebuilt?
I would be coming from a Stingray 230sx, so this is a big step up for us..

Thank you~!
I have no first hand experience with them but I do know they are GREAT motors. You can never predict the life of a motor but they SHOULD last a long time if maintained properly.

·
Registered
4,109 Posts
I think 60K is extremely overpriced, I would look around. I have a 2000 28' Powerquest that I would sell for 40K, no way a Donzi is worth 20K more than mine.

Attachments

·
Registered
5,508 Posts
Not Right said:
I think 60K is extremely overpriced, I would look around. I have a 2000 28' Powerquest that I would sell for 40K, no way a Donzi is worth 20K more than mine.
NR the boat has twin Scorps which were a REALLY expensive option.

·
Rock Steady
13,139 Posts
Buy it !!! You can always dump more money in it later... thats what we DO !!!

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Nice choice,those scorpion engines were hand assembled with the good stuff.That's why the money.A dealer in my area has a 2000 28 zxo with twin 350 mags no trailer for the same money.You'll enjoy the better ride and pick up more mph.I think that boat is rated in the high 70 or low 80 mph.Good luck.

·
Registered
5,508 Posts
Not Right said:
didnt they stop selling those? Why?