Powerboat Forums at SpeedWake banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now, i found a great deal down the street, for 7k. its a 1987 Four Winns Liberator 211 with a Merc 454 with only 144 hours on the meter!!! Everything is original, it comes with the trailer which the owner says has been traveled less than 100 miles in total.

Is this a good deal, ive been looking on craigslist and all libbys are 9k + with only 350s.

The boats owner is 74 years of age and hes only selling because of medical expenses, its been sitting in his garage for 2 years now....anything i should check for??!! I think it needs a tune up because of the time its been sitting there...

Is the 454 a good motor for the 211??

Ive been looking for a small performance boat for a while under 10k. Ive been riding sailboats for 15+ years and PWCs for over 5 but i want to see whats its like traveling 55+...in a 21 foot boat and loud exhaust.

What should i look for in the test drive which im going to take later this week?

My main concern is my wife, who talked with her friend and shes saying thats its real easy to spend 1000 dollars of gas in 3-4 days. I dont believe her. Whats the fuel economy like in the libby with a 454, i havent found any forums or any info on the GPH on this. Im estimating 15-25 GPH at cruising rpm.

Whats the ideal cruising rpm on this and whats the cruising GPH?

I also own an Land Rover LR3 with a v8 and a 2007 Ford Explorer v6, im guessing the Lr3 would be more competent for the towing.

Anything at all i should be concerned about with Liberators??

Thanks,

Cigsmoker, soon to contribute more to speedwake and real excited to get into performance boating!

·
Registered
8,878 Posts